April is Fair Housing Month!

Home-Buying-5The month of April is a very important time for real estate professionals all across the nation.

Why? This is in the month that we celebrate the anniversary of the passing for the Fair Housing Act and recommit to the goal that inspired the legislation.

For those of you who may not know, the fair housing act essentially eliminated housing discrimination and created equal opportunity in every community.

And, as you might imagine, it’s a critical piece of legislation for anyone interested in buying property in the Minneapolis Area.

A Closer Look at the Fair Housing Act and What It Means for You

The fair housing act means that all communities are open and welcoming, free from housing discrimination and hostility.

Spelled out, it means that everyone, regardless of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, familial status, and disability, has access to whatever neighborhood we desire to reside in.

The Fair Housing Act protects people from discrimination when they are renting, buying, or securing financing for any housing.

As such, in the Sale and Rental of Housing, no one may take any of the following actions based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status or handicap:

  • Refuse to rent or sell housing
  • Refuse to negotiate for housing
  • Make housing unavailable
  • Deny a dwelling
  • Set different terms, conditions or privileges for sale or rental of a dwelling
  • Provide different housing services or facilities
  • Falsely deny that housing is available for inspection, sale, or rental
  • For profit, persuade owners to sell or rent (blockbusting)
  • Deny anyone access to or membership in a facility or service (such as a multiple listing service) related to the sale or rental of housing.

There are also specific stipulations for mortgage lending mentioned in the Fair Housing Act.

In Mortgage Lending, it means no one may take any of the following actions based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status or handicap (disability):

  • Refuse to make a mortgage loan
  • Refuse to provide information regarding loans
  • Impose different terms or conditions on a loan, such as different interest rates, points, or fees
  • Discriminate in appraising property
  • Refuse to purchase a loan
  • Set different terms or conditions for purchasing a loan.

Meanwhile, it’s also illegal for anyone to:

  • Threaten, coerce, intimidate or interfere with anyone exercising a fair housing right or assisting others who exercise that right
  • Advertise or make any statement that indicates a limitation or preference based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, or handicap.

For more information on what’s covered under the Fair Housing Act, visit https://portal.hud.gov/.

And if you suspect your rights have been violated, you’re encouraged to contact Housing and Urban Development.

We’ll Help You Find Your Dream Minneapolis Area Home!

We hope you’ve learned something new about the Fair Housing Act and why the month of April is so special for real estate agents.

If you’re ready to purchase your own property here, please take a moment to contact us at Stutsman Realty Inc. We would love to assist you by answering any questions you might have as well as providing you with some valuable insight on available home listings for sale.

Your Team at Stutsman Realty, Inc.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com